Saturday, March 7, 2026

Formula 1 2026 is upon us

I guess I should post something since Formula 1 starts tomorrow.

Am I interested? I don't know, I will watch the race highlights on YouTube once they are up and see how I feel. But it looks like from qualifying anyway we are in for much of the same, Redbull, Ferrari, McLaren, and Mercedes battling it out.

It might be interesting to see if the new engines, oh sorry, "power units" make a difference or not. Will we see a Haas, or Alpine, or the new Audi or Cadillac teams fighting up front or not?

Will there be a feel-good story this year?

I'd actually like to see Hamilton and Ferrari take some checkered flags this year. I know, weird after I wanted Verstappen to beat him so badly. Now I want to see a Hamilton come back. A fickle F1 fan I am.

Anyway, let's see how tomorrow goes. 

George Russel is on pole, could be interesting. 



F1 - 2026 - paint schemes

Like always, I am unimpressed with this year's paint schemes on the Formula 1 grid. You would think that these multi-million dollar teams could come up with something unique, inspiring, eye-catching, whatever.

Maybe I just like to complain, but I don't think I am alone. Most everyone was disappointed that the new Cadillac team did not come out swinging with a gold paint scheme. Instead they came out with about the most boring you can get, black and white.

Ferrari I liked, that was until someone on the internet mentioned they thought the new Ferrari livery reminded them of a Heinz ketchup bottle. Now I cannot not see it.

Alpine should go back to their all pink livery.

Can we get a yellow car please?! I don't think there has been a yellow car since the Eddie Jordan days. (Well, there was some yellow with Fernando Alonso/Benetton era.)

Anyway, I do like the Williams car again this year. Thank goodness for some light blue.


 

Saturday, January 3, 2026